“The Trials of Task Force Faith” is a historical module, designed by Andrew Hershey. It is the second release by LFT in its “Perimeter of Necessity” series, which focuses on the Chosin/Changjin Reservoir Campaign during the early months of the Korean War.

Many of you will recall that the first in this “Perimeter” series covered the actions of Fox Company, 2nd Battalion, 7th Marines at Toktong Pass (see "From the Cellar" # 10). Now with “The Trials of Task Force Faith”, the action switches from the deep snow covered high mountain pass to the west of Chosin to its lightly snow swept and ice covered eastern shores at the P’ungnyuri-gang Inlet. Here beginning on the night of the 27th of November and through the 1st of December, 1950, the 31st Regimental Combat Team (31-RCT), U.S. Army held the bulk of the 80th Division, of the Chinese People’s Army, at bay in a stand worthy of comparison to Thermopylae.

“The Trials of Task Force Faith” contains 11 H-series scenarios (6 day and 5 night), 1 map (KGS in size) and a rules booklet. There is no CG. The battle was not one that lends itself to such a depiction, as 31-RCT received no reinforcements of personnel, and very little in the way of re-supply (which came only sporadically from the air). Likewise, there are no counters in the module pack. This was done deliberately in order : “a” to keep cost down, and “b” to maximize the value of Forgotten War, which, with Yanks, is all you need to play, the ASLRB not withstanding. Those familiar with the rules from FTC#10 will find many of them exactly the same, although there are some new ones to cover new terrain, and certain aspects of the battle.

“The Trials of Task Force Faith” captures the cauldron like feel as 31-RCT fends off fierce Communist Chinese night attacks, while then by day having then to mount counterattacks to retake key lost terrain, and so give the regiment the breathing space it needed to organize a breakout attempt under the cover of U.S.M.C. close air support. Can you handle the command challenges of 31-RCT ? Can you as the CPVA commander effectively move to seal the task force’s grim fate ?

The scenarios

  • FT TF-F1 Red Dragon Stalking Polar Bears (11 turns)
  • FT TF-F2 Shaking off the Shock Wave (5,5 turns)
  • FT TF-F3 Taking back Vital Ground (6,5 turns)
  • FT TF-F4 Return of the Dragon (9 turns)
  • FT TF-F5 Triple a to the Rescue (8 turns)
  • FT TF-F6 The Assumption of Faith (8 turns)
  • FT TF-F7 Growing Pains (6 turns)
  • FT TF-F8 Firemen vs. Icemen (5 turn)
  • FT TF-F9 Bridges of Sorrow (6 turns)
  • FT TF-F10 Hold out, one more Night (7,5 turns)
  • FT TF-F11 The First Station on Faith’s Via Dolorosa (7,5 turns)

Documents

VASL board for Trials of Task Force Faith

(2.1 Mio)

Errata

In TF-F2.1 add ",that does not originate from another RR hex ;" after "LOF" in line 4.

In TF-F4.31 the cross-reference is to 4.42.

In TF-4.4 the cross-reference is to 4.41-42.

In 4.41 "FFMP/FFNA" should read "FFMO/FFNA."

In TF.F9.1. Add as the last sentence : "As a CPVA Guard, the FBE (TF-F.9) is always considered in LOS (even at Night) for the purposes of exception “d” of the final bullet point of W7.4231."

In TF-F.6 Delete the phrase “Contrary to W2.14,” (This edit does not alter the Americans being Normal).

In TF-F.62 : clarification DC/Bangalore Torpedoes play normally as regards Extreme Winter.

TF-F.65 "Field Phone & Extreme Weather" should be "Field Phone & Extreme Winter"

FT TF-F8 Firemen vs. Icemen scenario card, American "Elements Battalion Motor Pool and Service Company," it says, "see SSR3." should read... "see SSR5."

Q : TFF.6, "For both sides, only Good Order SMC/CE AFV may fire starshells (E1.92)." Should this be "leaders" instead "SMC" ? Heroes can’t ordinarily fire starshells. Or is the intention to grant heroes the ability to fire starshells ?

A : SMC is correct.

Q : TFF.62 In the EX the CPVA LMG should malfunction on a DR >= 9, no ? B11 with -1 for Extreme Winter & -1 CPVA Early War [W7.11].

A : Correct, >= 9.

Q : TFF 7.3 If a routing or berserk MMC leaves its PDP at night and later is no longer routing or berserk, by the rule it can move freely until it enters a PDP, at which point that PDP becomes its new territory. Is that the same if a MMC leaves a PDP with a leader, even if the leader leaves that MMC ?

A : Yes.

Q : Is becoming TI as a result of Looting a loss of " ?" activity ?

A : Yes, as Looting would be classed on the Loss/Gain Concealment Table as something which falls under case "C," "If it engages in any other action..."

Thanks to JRV, ROAR Guru, for all these edits !


Post-scriptum

Q & A :

Q : Shellholes For a B2 Shellhole, if three squads entered a shellhole hex using one MF during the MPh, they would not be entitled to the foxhole TEM for DFF during the MPh, but would be entitled to it during the DFPh. If three squads entered a FCaT2.71 shellhole at one MF during the MPh, would the TEM during the DFPh be : +1 for all three, +1 for one squad and +0 for the other two or +0 for all three ?

A : +1 for 1x S-Equiv., and zero for the other 2x S-Equiv. Once that one S-Equiv is declared it receives it, until it leaves/eliminated, or 1x FrT does/is, then 1x FrT other could be added in whenever eligible to claim TEM.

Q : Is there a one MF cost for exiting a FCaT2.71 shellhole ?

A : No, as they remain shellholes “except as noted herein,” and exiting cost was not addressed in FCaT rules.

Q ; Is that one MF spent in-hex as a separate expenditure ?

A : See above.

Q ; Foxholes have +4 TEM vs OVR and OBA and +2 TEM vs all other attacks (including indirect fire by MTRs). FCaT2.71 shellholes have a +3 TEM vs all indirect fire, not just OBA, i.e. including mortars too. Is this correct ?

A : For all purposes, the TEM of these shellholes is 1 factor less than a true Foxhole would be

Q : Can FCaT2.71 shellholes be overstacked ?

A : No.

Q : Is their capacity per side like foxholes or absolute ?

A : Per side.

Q : Special Mortars FCaT2.6 forbids a special mortar from setting up in a tent hex. I don’t see any other mention of special mortars setting up at all. Is FCaT2.6 in error, is there a rule I am missing or is there a missing rule ?

A : In 2.6 delete “nor...therein.”

Q Is the "Special Mortar Fire hex" mentioned in FCaT3.5 hex J15 ?

A : J15

Q : Is range for the fire traced from J15, from the spotter or from elsewhere ? This matters for the base TH# and the placement of IR per E1.932 at multiples of six hexes.

A : From J15

Q : Can these mortars malfunction ?

A : No

Q : Do they suffer from extreme winter penalties ?

A : No

Q : Can these mortars fire without a spotter/observer using LOS from their setup hex ?

A : No

Q : Is there any minimum range limitation for these mortars ? If not, per C3.33 the ATT may not be used at zero range. Can these mortars target their setup hex ?

A : Min. Range 3.

Q : Per FCaT3.5, should "the CPVA Control hex J15 with a Good Order MMC at the end of any Player Turn both these special mortars are immediately forfeit for the rest of the scenario." Assume during a MPh a CPVA MMC moves through J15 or moves into it but Advances out when there is no American unit in the hex. By the control rules the hex is now controlled by the CPVA. Are the special mortars forfeit ?

A : Forfeit.

Q : Or must a CPVA occupy the hex at the end of the Player Turn, with control not being sufficient ?

A : See above.

Q : Miscellaneous FCaT2.6 says, "EXC : the Tents in K15 do not exist in the Fox 1 scenario." What is the "Fox 1 scenario" ?

A : FT300

Q : Are tents concealment terrain ?

A : No.

Q Can fireteams be infantry OVR like halfsquads [W7.6] ?

A : Yes, as a FrT is 1/3 of a squad.

Q : Do placed shellholes remove existing in-hex terrain per B2.1 ?

A : No.

Q : Per B2.3 shellhole TEM is not cumulative with other TEM. Is this correct for FCaT ?

A : Not cumulative vs small arms...but yes cumulative if say OBA or Lt Mtr. when in woods.

FOX.
Q : Is the presence of a tent in I15 sufficient to void the night LV hindrance for an attack from the same level, say G14 ?

A : Yes.

FAITH.

Q : Is the presence of a tent sufficient to void the night LV hindrance for an attack from the same level : ?

A : Yes.